It’s All About Customers – What I Learned from Reading Jim Blasingame’s, “Age of the Customer”

AgeOftheCustomer_3dBook

While trying to learn more about leadership and book publishing I came across Michael Hyatt’s blog on intentional leadership.  I read his blog, listened to his podcast, and tried to apply what I was learning.  Over and over again he gave away more helpful information.  When he published his book, Platform, I bought it without hesitation.

Michael Hyatt exemplifies every aspect of Jim Blasingame’s book, Age of the Customer.

One main principal communicated in his book is delivering value.  Jim says it this way, “Demonstrate value by contributing before any business is conducted.  Contribute first, sell second.”  This is demonstrated by people like Michael Nichols who gives you his book, Creating Your Business Vision, when you sign up for his email list.  Here he takes a similar approach of Michael Hyatt’s Creating Your Personal Life Plan and applies it to your business.  This point is further driven home by the crash test dummy of online business, Pat Flynn.  He over-delivers in his e-book on creating ebooks.  He takes you along the ride of creating your own e-book with lots of content and visuals.  Both Michael Nichols and Pat Flynn give monster value at no cost to you – just signing up for their email list.

Here is a simple way you can do this too:  Identify a group of people, or several individuals and send them something of value.  Over-deliver!  Send a book, a magazine, or an article that applies specifically to that person.  If you offer a free ebook on your site, re-read it.  Does it add monster value?  If not, create one that does.

After you do this, send me a note, comment or tweet about it – what you did, and how it was received.

Have you ever over-delivered for a customer?  What was their reaction?  Have you ever been the recipient of a person over-delivering?  How did it make you feel?  Leave a comment below.

Tags: , , , , ,

9 responses to “It’s All About Customers – What I Learned from Reading Jim Blasingame’s, “Age of the Customer””

  1. tcavey says :

    I like Hyatt’s blog, very informative. Sadly I don’t have enough time to apply all the wonderful tips.

    It’s awesome when people over-deliever, I know it’s blessed me in the past and I hope to return the favor to others. Better to give than to receive.

    • sparkvoice says :

      I don’t have the time to implement all of what he says, but in areas where I lead myself, I’ve tried to apply what I learn. When people over-deliver, isn’t it a great feeling? It always makes me feel valued and appreciated! Thank you for reading and commenting TC!

  2. Dan Black says :

    Over delivering allows you to retain and gain new customers. It’s a great business principle every business should adapt. I’ll have to put the book on my reading list.

    • sparkvoice says :

      “Retain and gain new customers” is spot on Dan. Why go through all of the effort needed to contact customers and then under-deliver?

  3. Caleb says :

    I guess in ministry I hate to use the word “customer” but I think some of the same principles apply. Our mission has “excellence” as one of the core values and it has influenced the way i minister to others. When we show up at a church to speak, we are there to serve them, encourage them and exhort them. I do everything possible to make this happen from working hard on my sermon prep to making sure I connect personally with the people and answer as many of their questions as I can to making time to talk to various groups in the church.

    • sparkvoice says :

      As a minister you have a significant impact on those who attend at your congregation. Taking that responsibility seriously can really send a good message. Being connected is one of the most effective ways to help people feel welcomed, like they belong, and that they are a part of something. Thank you for sharing!

  4. kentjulian says :

    LOVE the word “over-deliver.” Easier to say than do, but if you do it, wow!

    (BTW…is there a way to get reminders of your blog via email.)

    • sparkvoice says :

      People always remember when they receive more than they expect.

    • sparkvoice says :

      Kent there is a way if you visit the main page from a desktop. It looks like the mobile page isn’t displaying the email sign-up. I’ll have to correct that. Thanks for the heads-up and your interest in receiving blog updates.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 719 other followers

